HACIENDA by Hacienda Jazz Band (2000)


Price $20.00 (including shipping & handling)




The Hacienda Jazz Band first performed at the Hacienda Hotel Brisbane in the late 1960’s early 1970’s. The band had a great following & featured many of Brisbane’s leading Jazz musicians of that era including Jack & Vern Thompson on Piano, Ray Thomas Bass, Bob Watson Drums, Les Crosby Trumpet & Vocals, Eric Hall Clarinet & Saxophone, & Barry Connell Trombone & Vocals. During the many Saturday afternoon gigs, John Taylor an Engineer at radio station 4BH often used to call in with his recording equipment and record the band. The group also featured as a backup band at a number of Festival Hall concerts.

It was by accident that John recently unearthed the old master tapes and what you now hear are the great sounds of a band long forgotten. Unfortunately, Ray Thomas passed away some years ago but the rest of the group is still “alive & kicking”.

The Hacienda Jazz Band has formed again to perform at the Brisbane Queensland Jazz Convention in May 2000. We trust listeners will enjoy this album as much as we all enjoy getting together again.

Les Crosby, on behalf of the Hacienda Jazz Band (Sydney March 2000)

*Vocal by Les Crosby on “Careless Love”, “Marne” & “St. James Infirmary”

*Vocal by Barry Connell on “Basin St.Blues”


  1. MARCH OF THE BOBCATS – The Bobcats (Bob Crosby) 2:41
  2. BALL’IN THE PARK – Smith/Burns 3:49
  3. CARELESS LOVE – Jerry Herman/WC Handy 5:55
  4. MUSCRAT RAMBLE – Kid Ory 2:09
  5. TIN ROOF BLUES – New Orleans Rhythm Kings 7:06
  6. THE GOLDEN WEDDING – Gabriel Marie 3:39
  7. BASIN ST. BLUES – Spencer Williams 4:13
  8. MAME – Herman 3:41
  9. I’VE FOUND A NEW BABY – Jack Palmer/Spencer Williams 4:43
  10. ROSE ROOM – Art Hickman & Harry William 3:53
  11. ORIGINAL DIXILAND ONE STEP – DJ (Nick) La Rocca 2:43
  12. BLACK & BLUE – Razof/Waller/Harper/Brooks Davis 2:48
  13. ST JAMES INFIRMARY – Primose 5:00
  14. MIDNIGHT IN MOSCOW – Vasil/Soloviev 4:17

©Hacienda Jazz Band, 2000

All rights of the owner of this recorded work reserved. Unauthorised public performance, broadcasting, leasing and copying of this record prohibited.